April 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
 
 
 
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
 
 
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
 
 
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
 
 
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2012-13 Academic Calendar for Washington

SAIS Washington DC
2012-2013 Academic Calendar
(TENTATIVE)

Wednesday, May 16-Thursday, May 17, 2012

Economics waiver exams, online: Micro, Macro, Trade, Monetary & Statistics

Friday, June 1-Sunday, June 3, 2012

Economics waiver exams, online: Micro, Macro, Trade Monetary & Statistics

Monday, June 4-Thursday, July 26, 2012

Summer Programs

Friday, June 15, 2012

Deadline to meet requirements for May, 2012 degree conferral


Fall 2012

Monday, July 16, 2012

 Registration opens online for non-language courses  

Monday, July 30-Saturday, August 25, 2012

Pre-Term classes meet: Economics, English, Math

Monday, August 20, 2012

Final day to submit to Registrar’s Office- request for Change of Concentration for fall semester bidding

Monday, August 20, 2012

Part-Time/Non-Degree application/registration deadline

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Payment for Fall 2012 tuition is due at 5:00p

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Economics Waiver Exams Proctored on Site:
Statistics 10:00-12noon & 2:00p-4:00p
Trade 10:00a-12noon
Monetary 2:00p-4:00p  

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Economics Waiver Exam Proctored on Site:
Microeconomics 10:00a-12:00noon
Macroeconomics 2:00p-4:00p

Thursday, August 30-Friday, August 31, 2012

Orientation

Friday, August 31, 2012

6 PM Deadline for registration for all Non-Language courses – ALL STUDENTS MUST BE REGISTERED 

6 PM Course Bidding Round 1 Registration Deadline – Review Bidding Website for dates, times, and applicable courses. 

Conferral date for summer degree completion

Monday, September 3, 2012

Labor Day -- SAIS closed

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Classes begin 

Tuesday, September 4-Monday, September 17

Drop/Add non-language courses online  

Tuesday, September 4-
Friday, September 7, 2012

Language Placement/Proficiency Examinations

Friday, September 7, 2012

Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
AFP: 9:00-12:00   Theories of IR: 1:00-4:00
CNS: 9:00-12:00   Evolution of the Intl Sys. 1:00-4:00

Monday, September 10, 2012

9 PM Course Bidding Round 2 Registration Deadline – Review Bidding Website for dates, times, and applicable courses.

Tuesday, September 11-
Monday, September 24, 2012

Language classes begin/online registration opens- students must submit proof of registration to their language instructor; Language drop/add after this period requires authorization from the language program coordinator or director.  

Tuesday, September 18-Monday, October 1, 2012

Exceptional Drop/Add in person for Non-Language Courses with faculty signature in the Registrar’s Office

Tuesday, October 2, 2012-
Monday, October 22, 2012

Course Withdrawal Period -- a “W” will be placed on a student’s transcript when a non-language or language course is dropped during this period

Monday, October 22, 2012

Last day to register for Audit or change courses from Credit to Audit

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Deadline to submit incomplete grades for Spring 11 without grade restriction

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Deadline to request Leave of Absence for Spring 2013

Monday, November 19- Friday, November 23

Fall Break

Monday, November 26, 2012

Classes resume

Monday, December 3, 2012

Online Registration for Spring 2013  opens

Tuesday, December 4- Friday, December 7, 2012

Language Proficiency Examinations

Monday, December 10, 2012

Last Day of Classes for Fall Semester; incomplete grades from spring semester become failures; last day to change a course from Audit to Credit

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Reading Day; Oral Exams to qualify for Honors;
Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
AFP 9:00- 12:00; Theories of IR 1:00-4:00   

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

 Reading Day; Micro A.M./Trade P.M all sections Final Exams

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Oral Exams to qualify for Honors;
Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
CNS 9:00-12:00 
Evolution of the Intl System  1:00-4:00  

Friday, December 14, 2012  

Reading Day; Macro A.M. /Monetary P.M. Final Exams

Monday, December 17-
Friday, December 21, 2012

Final Exams

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Fall Semester final grades due

Friday, December 28, 2012

Conferral date for fall degree completion

Monday, December 24-Monday, January 28, 2013

Mid-Year Break


Spring 2013

Friday, January 11-Sunday, January 13, 2013

Economics  waiver examinations – online
Microeconomics, Macroeconomics for Spring 13 admits;
 Trade, Monetary, Statistics open to all first year DC Students

Sunday, January 20, 2013

Tuition payment due

Friday, January 25, 2013

6 PM Deadline for Online Registration for all Non-Language Courses  -- ALL STUDENTS MUST BE REGISTERED

6 PM Course Bidding Round 1 Registration Deadline – Review Bidding Website for dates, times, and applicable courses. 

Orientation

Monday, January 28, 2013

Classes begin

Monday, January 28- Friday, February 8, 2013

Drop/Add online period for Non-Language Courses  

Tuesday, January 29, 2013-
Friday, February 1, 2013

Language placement/proficiency exams

Friday, February 1, 2013

6 PM Course Bidding Round 2 Registration Deadline – Review Bidding Website for dates, times, and applicable courses.
 
Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
AFP: 9:00-12:00   Theories of IR: 1:00-4:00
CNS: 9:00-12:00   Evolution of the Intl Sys. 1:00-4:00

Tuesday, February 5,- Friday February 19, 2013

Language classes begin/online registration opens- students must submit proof of registration to their language instructor; Language Drop/Add after this period requires authorization from the language program coordinator or director.  

Monday, February 11, 2013-
Friday, February 22, 2013

EXCEPTIONAL Drop/Add in Person for Non-Language Courses at the Registrar’s Office;     

Monday, February 18, 2013

Presidents’ Day -- Classes will  be held

Monday, February 25- Friday, March 15, 2013

Course Withdrawal Period – a “W” will be placed on a student’s transcript when a non-language or language course is dropped during this period

Friday, March 15, 2013

Last day to register for Audit or change courses from Credit to Audit

Monday, March 18, 2013-
Friday, March 22, 2013

Spring break

Monday, March 25, 2013

Classes resume

Friday, March 29, 2013

Deadline to submit incomplete grades for Fall without grade restriction

Monday, April 1, 2013

Deadline to request Leave of Absence for Fall 2013

Tuesday, April 30-Friday, May 3, 2013

Language Proficiency Examinations

Friday, May 3, 2013

Last day of classes for Spring Semester;  incomplete grades from fall semester become failures; last day to change a course from Audit to Credit

Monday, May 6-May 10, 2013

Reading Days; Capstone completion;
Oral Exams to qualify for graduation with honors

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
AFP 9:00-12:00, Theories of IR 1:00-4:00
 

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Reading Day; Micro A.M./Trade P.M all sections Final Exams

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Core Exams: assigned rooms TBA
CNS 9:00-12:00,  Evolution of the Intl System   1:00-4:00 

Friday,  May 10, 2013

Reading Day; Macro A.M./Monetary P.M. all sections Final Exams

Monday, May 13,- Friday, May 17, 2013

Final Exams; consult the final exam schedule  

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Spring semester grades due  

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Degree conferral /University wide commencement ceremony

TBA

Economics and Statistics Waiver Examinations – Online  

Monday, June 3, 2013- Thursday, July 25, 2013

Summer Programs

 Friday, June 14, 2013

Deadline to meet requirements for spring degree conferral

Final Exam Schedule

Spring 2014 Final Exam Schedule
Foundation Economics Final Exams - May 7 & May 9, 2014
Micro all sections Wednesday, May 7, 9:00am-12:00 noon
Trade all sections Wednesday, May 7, 9:00am-12:00 noon
Macro all sections Friday, May 9, 9:00am-12:00noon
Monetary all sections, Friday, May 9, 1:00pm-4:00pm
Final Exam Week - Monday, May 12 - Friday, May 16, 2014
Monday9am - 12pmMonday 8am classes
1pm - 4pmMonday afternoon classes
6pm - 9pmMonday evening classes
Tuesday9am - 12pmTuesday 8am classes
1pm - 4pmTuesday afternoon classes
6pm - 9pmTuesday evening classes
Wednesday9am - 12pmMonday 10:15 - 12:15 classes
1pm - 4pmWednesday afternoon classes
6pm - 9pmWednesday evening classes
Thursday9am - 12pmThursday 8am classes
1pm - 4pmThursday afternoon classes
6pm - 9pmThursday evening classes
Friday9am - 12pmMake-ups
1pm - 4pmFriday afternoon classes
Final Exams are generally scheduled during Final Exam Week on the same day the class meets throughout the semester, with a few exceptions:
 Monday 10:15 am classes hold their final exams on Wednesday morning at 9am.
 Foundation Economics courses (non-accelerated Micro, Macro, Trade, Monetary) hold final exams during the week prior to "Final Exam Week."
 Core Courses may/may not hold a final exam during "Final Exam Week" please consult your syllabus if you are taking the Core course for credit
Exams meet in the same room assigned during the semester, unless specified by the instructor. If no final exam is noted in a course syllabus, you should inquire with the instructor to determine if you need to plan for a final exam.

Events in Europe

April 2014

Events in Nanjing

April 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2013-2014 Academic Calendar for Hopkins-Nanjing Center

Fall Semester 2013

  • Sep 7–8 - Check-in
  • Sep 9–13 - Orientation
  • Sep 16 - Classes begin
  • Sep 19 - Mid-Autumn Festival holiday
  • Sep 30–Oct 6 - Chinese National Day holiday
  • Oct 11 - Drop-change period ends
  • Nov 23–Dec 1 - Fall break
  • Dec 25 - Christmas Day holiday
  • Jan 1 / 2014 - New Year’s Day holiday
  • Jan 10 - Last day of fall semester classes
  • Jan 11 - Winter vacation begins
  • Jan 15 - Last day of residence in the Center


(The Center’s facilities are closed from Jan 16 to Feb 12 / January 31, 2014 = Chinese New Year)

Spring Semester 2014

  • Feb 12 - First day of residence in the Center
  • Feb 17 - Classes begin
  • Mar 7 - Drop-change period ends
  • Mar 29–Apr 6 - Spring break
  • May 1–2 - International Labor Day holiday
  • Jun 2 - Dragon Boat Festival holiday
  • Jun 12 - Last day of spring semester classes
  • Jun 13 - Commencement ceremony
  • Jun 14 - Summer vacation begins
  • Jun 18 - Last day of residence in the Center

Click here for a printable version

Click here for the 2013-2014 Academic Calendar